About the Awards

Each  January, members of the National Association of Film Critics will vote to recognize the highest cinematic achievements of the preceding year in twenty awards categories. Nominations for each category will be made by members on a rolling basis throughout the year and be made public on this website as soon as they are processed. There are no limits on the amount of nominations that can be made for each category as we hope to recognize all who are deemed deserving by our members. Each category shall have two awards: the winner of the category, referred to as Best, and the runner- up in the category, referred to as Outstanding.

The awards categories will include:

  1. Film
  2. Director
  3. Cinematography
  4. Editing
  5. Leading Actor
  6. Leading Actress
  7. Supporting Actor
  8. Supporting Actress
  9. Ensemble Cast
  10. Voice Performance
  11. Motion Capture Performance
  12. Screenplay (Adapted)
  13. Screenplay (Original)
  14. Production Design
  15. Sound
  16. Visual Effects
  17. Costume Design
  18. Makeup and Hairstyling
  19. Original Score
  20. Stunt Coordination

In addition to our twenty category awards, each year the NAFC will award  a Lifetime Achievement Award to one individual for their dedication to the art of cinema.

We will also present a yearly Humanitarian Award and may choose to present a Special Achievement Award should distinguished achievements be made in the furthering of the cinematic experience. Furthermore we will recognize documentaries which the NAFC determines to be exemplary.


Voting for the twenty category awards will be conducted by all voting members via rank order ballots with the film receiving the highest placement on the most ballots winning the Best award and the second highest winning the Outstanding award. Please note that any nomination, even one that does not result in a win, is the result of outstanding work and we encourage everyone to watch any movie that has been nominated in any category. The Lifetime Achievement, Special Achievement, Documentary, and Humanitarian Awards will all be determined solely by the Board of Directors, however, all members of the NAFC and members of the public are welcome to submit statements in favor of recognizing an individual for the Board’s consideration.